Parish Clerk

Parish Council update as at November 2019

There are two items of Parish Council business to mention in this edition of the magazine.

Firstly, PA019/6264 proposed agri-business centre at Kennards House. Peter Stockall from the agent Avison Young arranged a public exhibition in the Village Hall on Monday 7thOctober. Over the three hours of exhibition 47 people attended and 21 people completed feedback forms. Positive comments on the feedback forms related to the hotel design, layout of the site and overall design, local employment and agricultural employment provision, hotel and service station provision, access to the site and the mixed-use nature of the site. Other comments included; priority should be given to local-residents for employment, the Cricket Club needs more support, a negative response to the service station roof design, concerns relating to highway safety, concerns relating to traffic generation, requests for road widening and a request for a park and ride scheme. The key points of concern, however, related to the relocation of the cricket pitch and the road width near to the site.


At the Parish Council meeting held on 9thOctober the Parish Council agreed to support the application based on the evidence gained at the public exhibition but with the following provisions:

The application should meet cycle and pedestrian safety considerations including standard widths of pedestrian and cycleways, bus routes and/or park and ride with bus shelters, from Tregaller Lane to the flyover. Provision of an emergency vehicle exit onto Tregaller Lane. Investigation of an HGV overnight parking facility. There should be adequate security on the whole site from the outset to support the police recommendations. It must be ensured that there is adequate drainage on the site.Protection of green areas.
The parish council also requested:
A Section 106 material considerations for protection and relocation of South Petherwin Cricket Club including the right to service/utilities with no impediment. To ensure a replacement cricket club pavilion forms part of the planning application. The Parish Council also recommend that the financial burden of the move should not be met by the cricket club in any way with a minimum 99-year lease.

It was agreed by all that the development would be a huge benefit for employment and agriculture in this area. It would also be a benefit to the Plusha junction in relation to traffic safety; vehicles would leave at the earlier services rather than using facilities at this dangerous junction.

The second of item of Parish Council business was phase 2 of the Community Governance Review. The review panel held a meeting in Tregadillett Community Centre on 27thSeptember. South Petherwin Parish Council Chairman attended and presented South Petherwin parish submissions. The panel only had one request and that was regarding Pennygillam Industrial Estate. South Petherwin have requested that the boundaries in Pennygillam Industrial Estate remain the same (approximately half of the Estate lies within the Parish) to retain the historical boundary and allow the parish to continue with the support they provide to business owners. Launceston Town Council have requested all the Estate should be within Launceston Town to ‘round off the boundary’. The Community Governance Review panel suggested that South Petherwin Parish Council and Launceston Town Council should meet to discuss a way ahead. This meeting was held in the Town Hall on Monday 7thOctober however no compromise was found and the submissions from the parish and the town council remain unchanged. We wait for further guidance from the Community Governance Review panel.

The Cornwall Community Governance Review statements submitted can be found below:

ccgr-submission-form South Petherwin Parish Council Pennygillam Industrial Estate     

ccgr-submission-form South Petherwin Parish Council northen boundary change proposal

CGR Letter to residents

South Petherwin Parish Council Community Goverance Review map Pennygillam

South Petherwin Parish Council Community Goverance Review map old and new A30



South Petherwin Parish Council Chairman – Phil Parsons / 01566 777179 / 07597 383685

South Petherwin Parish Council Vice-chair – Rachel Jeffery


Parish Council Meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month

2nd January

Methodist Chapel Hall

10th July

Village Hall

6th February

Methodist Chapel Hall

14th August

Village Hall

13th March

Methodist Chapel Hall

11th September

Village Hall

10th April

Methodist Chapel Hall

9th October

Village Hall

8th May (AGM)

Village Hall

13th November

Methodist Chapel Hall

12th June

Village Hall

11th December

Methodist Chapel Hall

Annual Parish Meeting

29th May

Village Hall

Budget meeting

16th October

Methodist Chapel Hall